La vida mochilera // Backpacker life

I once had an article published that proclaimed my firm stance against backpacking and the likelihood that I would never do it. Well, the time has come for me to rescind that statement.

Being a backpacker is an amazing and humbling experience. Reasons why: the sheer freedom of carrying all of your (current) earthly possessions on your back, confirmation what it is (and how much) that you really need to survive, the somewhat meditative repetition of unpacking and repacking every few days – mostly in the same way, but always a bit different – the excitement of always glimpsing unseen territory, and perhaps most of all, the instant camaraderie and buzzing intrigue of constantly meeting new, amazing people who come from many different corners of the world but are connected by one same love of travel, among whom one can instantly connect, probably on a deeper and faster level than you could with a stranger in your own land or city.

 

october-2016-160

There’s a simple satisfaction that comes when everything works out perfectly: you can get your bag from the checked luggage station, have a vegetable soup and buy snacks, buy your bus ticket, make it through the vestibule and put your bag in the storage under the bus, all in time just to have it pull away as soon as you sit down. Obviously it doesn’t always happen this way either, and you must surrender to the ever-present lessons in having patience and going with the flow.

You become oddly used to sleeping among strangers, and going through the motions of arriving, getting settled, leaving again – learning the bare minimum of things you need for personal care, and the bare minimum of time you need to be connected to the internet.

Bus rides are the most inspiring, zooming along curves of the Pan-American, a road I’ve ridden many a time – but now I’m farther south, its familiar and brand new at the same time. In one 4-hour bus ride you can see three different rainbows – my days are filled with wonder. Every day is so new and different. One morning I am playing in a swimming pool with a bearded Scot, the next day I’m hiking in a national park and laughing over Indian food with girlfriends from the U.S. and Israel.

ecuador-september-086

There are so many lessons along the way – backpacking is challenging, it’s not like a vacation as many people may assume. My biggest teaching from this trip was a lesson of privilege and gratitude; I found myself without my smartphone for almost the whole time and was forced to contemplate what’s really important in this life, to remember the moment without snapping a photo. I am so grateful for everything that I possess, and even more grateful for having had my phone stolen, as it taught me to be present and really make the most of the moment, the day at my feet.

Even better is going backpacking in the same country you’ve been living in for half a year. I’d loved it for just as long, but now I was seeing it in a new and different way, through tourists’ eyes.

I was able to find nuances in new cities, learning that in Loja you pay the public bus when you get off not on, and the taxi minimum charge is different. I had hit a lot of destinations on the tourist track, but there, it was refreshing to stop and get to know a new city where I returned to being the only blond person around.

And not only did I go from living to traveling in the same country, I also went from exploring Ecuadorian culture to many others, through meeting so many international folks – conversing with Brits, Scots and Australians at the same table and arguing about the correct way to say jelly (it’s jam).

october-2016-171

Ever-present is the reminder that everything intertwines in the school of life. When visiting the house and museum of Oswaldo Guayasamin, a revered Ecuadorian painter, I could appreciate the references to other historical figures, and not just because I had read about them in a book. I’d been to Neruda’s house in Chile, I’d befriended Nicaraguans who fought against Somoza in the revolution.

Sometimes I have to keep my mouth shut when I meet someone who’s been in the country for weeks or months and doesn’t know what chochos are. And the typical backpacker conversation becomes more complicated, in response to “what’s your route” or “how long have you been traveling for?,” I can’t simply say “three months, coming from Peru and heading to Colombia.”

Instead it’s more like, “Oh, I’ve actually been here for six and a half months, but I haven’t been traveling the whole time, I was living in Riobamba for a while and now I am traveling around and my route is really complicated, I keep going back and forth between the same places.” And let me tell you, this is not a question-answer dance that happens just every so often but rather about five times a day. It goes a little something like this…

“That’s cool! What is your job?”

“I was working with Global Glimpse, it’s a program based in the U.S. that brings groups of high school students down here for three-week educational and leadership programs.”

5 minutes later:

“That’s cool! What is your job?”

“I was working with Global Glimpse, it’s a program based in the U.S. that brings groups of high school students down here for three-week educational and leadership programs.”

10 minutes later:

“That’s cool! What is your job?”

“I was working with Global Glimpse, it’s a program based in the U.S. that brings groups of high school students down here for three-week educational and leadership programs.”

1 hour later:

“That’s cool! What is your job?”

“I was working with a high school exchange program.”

These conversations can get old and tiring, and sometimes you just don’t feel like talking to anyone. However, one of my biggest takeaways from this particular backpacking stint has been the breaking of the stereotype that conversations and friendships can never go deeper than that. Yes, sometimes you’re only staying in a place for one or two nights and don’t have the chance to connect with someone on a deeper level. But three nights with same group, and you feel like you’ve known them for years – or one long conversation to discover that you have so much in common with someone, and several hours after meeting it may feel like you’ve been traveling with them for weeks.

october-2016-124

Here’s a glimpse of my crazy route (within Ecuador only, excluding day trips as well as bus transfers), and a small taste of some of the new destinations that I visited and have not yet mentioned on my blog (it’s in shorthand, just what sticks out to me about each place).

Riobamba -> Quito -> Canoa -> Puerto Lopez -> Quito -> Secret Garden Cotopaxi -> Quito -> Mindo -> Quito -> Loja -> Vilcabamba -> Cuenca -> Guamote -> Riobamba -> Quito -> Secret Garden Cotopaxi -> Riobamba -> Latacunga -> Isinlivi -> Chugchilán -> Quilotoa -> Latacunga -> Riobamba -> Baños -> Puyo -> Tena -> Papallacta -> Quito -> Riobamba -> Cuenca -> Quito ❤

  • Canoa // a laidback beach town, devastated by the earthquake but strong in its rebuilding efforts, delicious seafood, morning walks on the beach, the ugliest sunburn I’ve ever had, picking up huge sacks’ worth of trash to earn free cocktails.
  • Puerto Lopez // fishing town, cabanas on the beach, construction, delicious Italian dinners, whale watching – calm, peaceful, humbling – Isla de la Plata, snorkeling, walking, seeing birds, rainy days.
  • Secret Garden Cotopaxi // serene, tranquil – a place where I set foot onto grounds and I am automatically at peace. The most beautiful place I have had luxury of spending time in. There are no words – it’s the kind of place you want to keep secret. A chorus of frogs sings you into meditation as you muse over the perfect, green hills, round like women’s breasts.
  • Mindo // sleepy town next to a cloud forest. Birds, butterflies, river – flowers, hummingbirds, quinoa burgers, biking to a waterfall, solo explorations. Napping on a rainy afternoon.
  • Loja // where I would love to live if not Riobamba. Hilly, trees, laidback, coffee, pretty city with an authentic feel, music and culture, a river.
  • Vilcabamba // a magical place, and not just because everybody thinks so – deserty feel, more so than rest of Sierra – valley of longevity, beautiful hills that don’t seem real – health, spa, yoga, pool, beautiful humans.
  • Cajas National Park // peaks and valleys, long rock faces, cloudy and gray but beautiful, magic Polylepis forest, reminds me of Ireland, mystical and magical, traverse up-down, lakes and squishy paramo.
  • Quilotoa loop // walking walking walking through valleys, a turquoise house on the hill, crossing rivers and fields with horses, passing so many fields of purple chochos (a beautiful, elusive plant, my first time seeing so many), interacting with locals (walking away to the sound of them repeating my name over and over, trying to pronounce it right), breathtaking, indescribable beauty.
  • Puyo // somewhat of a concrete jungle within the actual jungle, yet a good hub for day trips deeper into the Amazon, beautiful river walk in the city, a visit to the breathtaking mirador Indichuris.
  • Tena // beautiful Amazonic city, river stroll. being immersed in flowers, beautiful butterflies and birds. Hammock above the trees.
  • Papallacta // hot springs in Andean foothills, used as a respite from a long bus ride to Quito.

This was my first real backpacking stint of more than two weeks, but of course I did it a bit unconventionally. Luckily, I still had my home to return to in Riobamba, that provided not only a refuge for me to return to for a few days and re-charge every once in a while, but also a place to keep some of my stuff. I can’t tell you how wonderful it felt to return to Riobamba for the first time after several weeks on the road, to return to my neighborhood and the home I’d held for six months previous. Having Quito as a sort of home base for my travels as well as receiving my visitors was also amazing – I stayed at the family-owned hostel where we had stayed with our students. They were so welcoming and I always felt at home when I stepped in the door, a simple feeling that is hard to find when you’re on the backpacker trail and always visiting new places. In my explorations of Quito throughout that time, I also really got to learn my way around much more than I had before; I revisited new places but also got to see new things (as well as find new favorite places to always return to and devour their chocho hummus).

october-2016-152

Another unconventional adventure was when I went straight from backpacker life to the most culturally immersed I have ever been, a weekend in the home of the indigenous family where I was made godmother of their youngest child. It was a humbling experience, and made me realize that you can still have culture shock even after seven months living in that culture as a foreigner. It kept me on my toes, and confirmed for me that although I’ve discovered why people go backpacking, you must live in a country and develop relationships to find a deep, authentic connection within it. I am so grateful to have had such a unique experience and to have created strong ties with the people of Ecuador, and maybe this is even more apparent to me after having had that stuck right in the middle of my time as a tourist.

So, my ideas and travel philosophy have changed a bit – how beautiful is that? It’s a great reminder to keep an open mind and open heart to new experiences, surrendering to life and being open to something that serves me now even if it didn’t serve me before. As always, it’s in my Libra nature to find a balance in everything, and I plan to do just that from here on out: discover a beautiful balance between nomad-ing and being stable, and exploring countries in more ways than one.

chao ~ chels

october-2016-084

2 thoughts on “La vida mochilera // Backpacker life

  1. Ola Chica,
    There is no doubt, you travel experiences are your current textbooks, and you are learning in an educational classroom that is priceless. I love reading your words, you are quite simply delightful.❌⭕️❌m

    Like

  2. Mmmmm… chocho hummus!

    I’ve loved reading all your blog posts, Chels, but now having experienced Ecuador firsthand, this resonates in a way it hasn’t before. Seeing it through your eyes makes it even more beautiful. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

